Your safety is our priority. COVID-19 Measures

Nauru: One of the 17 Global Champions Announced for UN High-level Dialogue on Energy

Brazil, China, Colombia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Germany, India, Japan, Kenya, Mauritius, Nauru, the Netherlands, Pakistan, the Russian Federation, Spain, the United Arab Emirates, and the United Kingdom will serve as Global Champions for the UN High-level Dialogue on Energy. The High-level Dialogue is being convened by the UN Secretary-General, and will take place at the summit level in September 2021.

The first 17 Global Champions were announced on 21 January 2021. Further announcements are anticipated. The Global Champions will spearhead advocacy, raise awareness, and inspire commitments and action on the Dialogue’s five themes. Three themes focus on substantive progress with regard to:

  • advancing substantive progress on energy access, 
  • the energy transition, and
  • enabling the SDGs through inclusive, just energy transitions.

Two themes are cross-cutting and address means of implementation: innovation, technology and data; and finance and investment. 

The preparations for the High-level Dialogue will include a series of ministerial-level thematic forums to be co-hosted by the Global Champions. 

The Global Champions will also seek to mobilize voluntary commitments in the form of Energy Compacts that Member States, businesses, cities, and other stakeholders will present for the High-level Dialogue. The Energy Compacts will also feed into the Glasgow Climate Change Conference (UNFCCC COP 26) in November.  [UN press release] [High-Level Dialogue webpage] [All SDG Knowledge Hub coverage of High-level Dialogue on Energy]

(Source: IISD news 27 January 2021)

Stay Connected

Sign up for regular updates from the Pacific Tourism Organisation

I’m interested in:
Industry News
Sustainability News
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Privacy Policy & GDPR FAQs | *Required fields
Translate Page »